‘Irishman,’ Antonio Banderas, Lupita Nyong’o among NYFCC award winners

Dec. 4 (UPI) — The Irishman, Antonio Banderas and Lupita Nyong’o are among the New York Film Critics Circle winners.

The NYFCC voted on its annual awards Wednesday and announced the winners on Twitter.

The Irishman, directed by Martin Scorsese and starring Robert De Niro, Al Pacino and Joe Pesci, won Best Picture of 2019. The film opened in theaters in November and premiered on Netflix last week.

Brothers Benny and Josh Safdie took home Best Director for Uncut Gems, their crime thriller starring Adam Sandler. The film opens in theaters Dec. 13.

Antonio Banderas won Best Actor for his role as ailing film director Salvador Mallo in Pain and Glory. The film is directed by Pedro Almodóvar and co-stars Penelope Cruz.

Lupita Nyong’o won Best Actress for her role as Adelaide Wilson in Us, which opened in theaters in March. The horror movie is directed by Jordan Peele and co-stars Winston Duke, Shahadi Wright Joseph and Evan Alex.

The NYFCC will present the awards at a ceremony in New York in January.

Here is the full list of NYFCC award winners:

Best Picture: The Irishman

Best Director: Benny and Josh Safdie, Uncut Gems

Best Actor: Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory

Best Actress: Lupita Nyong’o, Us

Best Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Supporting Actor: Joe Pesci, The Irishman

Best Supporting Actress: Laura Dern, Marriage Story and Little Women

Best Animated Film: I Lost My Body

Best Cinematography: Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Best First Film: Atlantics

Best Foreign Language Film: Parasite

Best Nonfiction Film: Honeyland